Photo
- - - - -

What are the stories you tell your children?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rothwell

Rothwell

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 November 2010 - 07:00 PM

Salaam, dear friends,

I am new to the Islamica community today. I am not a Muslim, but I consider myself a friend of Islam. I just posted an introduction, if you would like more information about me.

My undergraduate and graduate degrees are in early childhood education and I taught three-to-five year olds for many years. I am interested in religious education in the community. I know that young children begin to memorize and recite the Qur'an. I know that children are expected to join in Salat by about age ten. I know that the Five Pillars are binding at the age of puberty.

My question is specifically what stories young children are told about Muhammad and Islam? If I were to look at the picture books for young children, what stories do they relate? What stories do you remember learning as a young child? The way Christian children are introduced to their faith is through Bible stories. What are the parallels in Islam?

Warm regards,
Rothwell
"O mankind! We created you from a single (pair) of a male and a female, and made you into nations and tribes, that ye may know each other (not that ye may despise (each other)." The Qur'an 49:13

#2 jigglypottamus

jigglypottamus

I'm your daddy and I didnt give you permission to talk.

• Members
  • 7,124 posts

Posted 11 November 2010 - 07:17 PM

welcome Rothwell.

Most of the parallel stories that Muslim children are taught are very similar to Biblical accounts - stories of the Prophets Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, David, Solomon, and so on. Other stories taught are those that teach Islamic values of patience, forgiveness, steadfastness, etc. Stories that teach God's penchant for forgiveness instead of punishment, etc.

Aside from the biblical stories, some no-name stories that teach these values include: